Académie du Jazz Awards 2017

Feb 03th, 2017

The annual ceremony of the French Académie du Jazz was held in Paris on Sunday, January 12th. These are the awards, chosen by a jury formed by about 50 specialised journalists:

  • Django Reinhardt Award (French musician of the year): Fred Nardin
  • Grand Prix (foreign musician): Avishai Cohen, “Into the Silence” (ECM)
  • French record: Laurent Courthaliac, “All My Life” (Jazz & People)
  • Vocal jazz: Michèle Hendricks, “A Little Bit of Ella” (Cristal Records)
  • Jazz book: Duke Ellington, “Music is my Mistress” (Editions Slatkine)
  • European musician: Andy Sheppard
  • Reissue: Thad Jones/Mel Lewis Orchestra, “All My Yesterdays, The Debut 1966, Recordings at the Village Vanguard” (Resonance)
  • Special mention: François Rilhac, “It’s Only a Paper Moon” (Black & Blue)
  • Classic jazz: Prix du Jazz Classique (Classic Jazz Award) Jerôme Etcheberry/Michel Pastre/Louis Mazetier, “7:33 Bayonne” (Jazz aux Remparts)
  • Soul: William Bell “This Is Where I Live” (Stax)
  • Blues: Corey Dennison “Corey Dennison Band” (Delmark)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.